danny daniel dani oore (photo: scott munn)

Dani’s debut solo recording has been called “powerful” (Christos Hatzis) and “truly brilliant” (Mike Murley).  He earned a Juno nomination for his studio work in the Jerry Granelli Trio, while his touring performances were praised: “an extraordinary reed player” (Jazz Chronicles).  The trio’s latest recording, in collaboration with Mike Murley, won a 2016 ECMA for Best Jazz Recording.  Dani’s duo with brother Sageev Oore is over thirty years old.  Their debut album Radical Cycle was recorded for CBC, lauded as “stunning” and “masterful” (Classical Modern Music Review), and nominated for a 2013 ECMA for Best Classical Recording.

Dani’s music is featured in over twenty specials for CBC and Bravo in collaborations with artists across different traditions, including soundtracks for his sister Jasmine Oore’s award–winning films, and electronic, orchestral, and big band compositions commissioned by new music and jazz festivals. Dani cofounded, fronted, and composed much of the music for the popular award–winning group Gypsophilia, before he left to live in the desert.  Along the way, his desire to connect with others has found him working in international collaborations not only with, but also as, a dancer (for Sara Shelton Mann, Cory Bowles), choreographer (for Alain Trudel conducting Stravinsky, and Schoenfield), actor (for Jasmine Oore), and performance artist (Festival of New Dance).  Early on, Dani’s creative process and philosophy inspired a film by Larry Jackman and a radio doc for national CBC. 

daniel dani oore danny oore (photo ilya makhlin)Stage and recording studio credits include collaborations with:
Julian Priester, Jay Clayton, David Tronzo, Patricia Rozario, Sam Rivers, Dan Weiss, Rez Abbasi, Dave Douglas, Matt Brubeck, Barry Guy, Fred Frith, Andy Milne, Andrew Dawes, The Chris Tarry Group, Jeff Reilly, David Braid, Plants and Animals, Duane Linklater, Al Tuck, Andrew Downing, Guy Few, David Virelles, David Mott, Mary Jane Lamond, Upstream Orchestra, Mark Fewer, Christine Duncan, Nick Fraser, Michael Blake, and Kiran Ahluwalia.